Everywhere Billiken

20 years ago I graduated from Saint Louis University. Billiken is nothing foreign for me as it is the university official mascot associate with basketball team. I still remember that time I diligently follow sports news. Having basketball player as one of my course & classmate did spark this interest on the Billiken’s team.

Saint Loius University Mascot

Saint Loius University Mascot

The memories came back to me like a flashback when I visit Shinsekai, Osaka. In one area it self, you can find many Billikens figure.

Billiken is a good-luck figure who represents “things as they ought to be.” In wikipedia it describes Billiken’s look :-The Billiken was elephant-like with pointed ears, a mischievous smile and a tuft of hair on his pointed head. His arms were short and he was generally sitting with his legs stretched out in front of him.

Shinsekai entrance gate

Shinsekai entrance gate

The Billiken made its Japanese debut in 1908. You can see Billikens around this area and how cute it is!

Kyeopta!

Kyeopta!

The smallest, silver in color.

The smallest, silver in color.

The below one is in Tsutenkaku Tower. Japanese believes if you rub the soles, it will makes your wishes come true. Ummp..I can’t remember what did I wish for..hehe

20141212095656

20141212095844-tile

3 thoughts on “Everywhere Billiken

    • Billiken in my Uni, is the mascot of school’s sport but in Osaka its becomes shrine where Japanese believes your wishes will come true, if you rub the soles. Amazing eh.

      Like

Leave a comment